Mashed potato burrito

I’ve been in a taco and burrito mood lately.  The inspiration for this particular burrito came from a vegetarian one I had at a music festival, this was no ordinary vegetarian burrito because It had mashed potatoes!  I couldn’t believe I had never thought of this before.  I used to come home from school and make a whole box of the instant mashed potatoes and eat the entire box.  I’d never touch the instant ones now, as my taste buds have evolved, but you get the point.

It has taken me a while to make this, not sure why, because it is really easy.  My mashed potatoes weren’t the best, but I made some decent ones in a flash.  They were definitely missing some garlic.

Here’s what you need:

  • 3 small yukon gold potatoes, cut into pieces
  • rice milk ( you can use any milk and/or butter)
  • 1 can black beans (or make your own dried or from a box)boxed black beans
  • diced red onion
  • diced tomato
  • fresh spinach
  • taco seasnoing
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  • sriracha
  • Whole wheat burritos
  1. Boil the potatoes for about 10 minutes, you want them to be soft
  2. Pour entire contents of beans into a pot and heat over medium
  3. Once beans are warm, drain and add taco seasoning, pepper, onion and tomato
  4. Drain potatoes and mash, add olive oil and rice milk until the right consistency is achieved.  Then add salt, pepper, and sriracha
  5. Now it’s time to layer your burrito: mashed potatoes, spinach, black bean mixture.  You could even add a few more squirts of sriracha, I like some heat.mashed potatoes and spinachmashed potato burrito

While writing this post I decided to research some different types of potatoes and I came across this informative breakdown (and I regret not buying those Japanese sweet potatoes I saw yesterday).  http://www.thekitchn.com/potato-varieties-64061

One thought on “Mashed potato burrito

Leave a Reply

