Coconut Red Curry with Skrimp

This is probably the best meal on the planet.  Hands down.  The first time I made red curry I was completely unsatisfied with the outcome.  The curry was dull and boring and it was lacking that rich coconut flavor and creaminess.  After speaking with a chef at the restaurant I work at, I learned some secret ingredients.  The quality of coconut milk makes a big difference, you also need brown sugar and fish sauce.  The first time I omitted fish sauce just because I was too lazy to go back to the store and get some…big mistake.  So, the first time I attempted this recipe I used Thai Kitchen red curry paste and Thai Kitchen unsweetened coconut milk.  This time I used Native Forest unsweetened coconut milk, which I found to be more flavorful and creamy and I also used a brand of red curry paste that I got from the Japanese Market, Sasaya, which I have featured on this site before (also my favorite sushi spot).

What you’ll need:

  • 1 can straw mushrooms
  • 1 Zucchini, cut lengthwise and then into strips
  • one bell pepper cut into strips
  • 1 lb of shrimp of other meat of your choice (chicken really soaks up the flavors well)
  • 2 cans of coconut milk
  • 1 can of red curry paste (read instructions on the can you purchase)
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce
  • Sriracha (optional)

You can really use any veggies you want: carrots, snap peas, potatoes, get creative.

You need one tbsp each of brown sugar and fish sauce per can of coconut milk

  1. Heat a large pot and add red curry paste
  2. Saute for a few minutes just to release the flavors from the paste
  3. Add coconut milk and whisk together
  4. Add brown sugar and fish sauce
  5. I also add about 1 tbsp of sriracha to give it a little spice
  6. Simmer for about 10-15 minutes
  7. Add vegetables and simmer another 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender
  8. Add shrimp and simmer until shrimp are cooked

I also made jasmine rice.  I cooked the rice with coconut water instead of water to add a little extra flavor.

This recipe feeds 2-4 depending on how much leftovers you want.  I like leftovers.

Leave a Reply

