Time to Hit the Salad Bar!

I love salads! Not only are they good for you because you’re consuming raw foods, most of which are vegetables, but they taste great.  I love biting into a crisp salad.  This is a salad that I make regularly for lunch.  I add baked Tilapia to my salad but you could also add grilled chicken, shrimp, or tuna.  Try to stay away from steak and keep it lean.  I’ve also been using a Garlic Aioli Mustard from Trader Joe’s on a lot of recipes lately because it’s so good!  So I made it into a dressing and it’s wonderful.  I’m sure you could make this dressing using your favorite mustard or other sauce.

What you’ll need:

  • 6 Cherry Tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 8 slices of Cucumber, cut in half-moon shapes
  • Some  Red Onion, I use a lot of onion
  • 1/4 of an Orange Bell Pepper, I usually use whatever I have on hand
  • 1/4 cup cannelloni beans
  • Sliced Romain Lettuce, you could use mixed greens, spinach, whatever you prefer
  • 1 fillet of Tilapia

For the Dressing:

  • 1 tbsp of Garlic Mustard
  • 1/2 tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • Pepper to taste

You may have to play around with the proportions for the dressing, but this is a good start.

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Put Tilapia into baking dish and pour about a tbsp of olive oil over the top, sprinkle with salt, pepper, italian seasoning, paprika (garlic and onion powder optional)
  3. Bake Tilapia for 12-15 minutes into the fish flakes apart easily
  4. While Tilapia is baking cut the ingredients for the salad and put into a bowl
  5. Add the ingredients for the dressing into a separate bowl and whisk together
  6. Pour the dressing in top of the salad
  7. Put the baked fish in top

And you’re done!  Enjoy this refreshing salad, I sure do.

Leave a Reply

