Bajan Macaronie Pie

While at work one day, I met a flight attendant who regularly flies to Barbados (where my Grandpa was from) and she offered to share with me some of her bajan spices, I gladly accepted her offer.  She even brought them to my job the next day before she left for work (probably flying to Barbados).  I already cooked some fish with the spices but I could not pass up an opportunity (excuse) to make macaronie and cheese…Bajan style.  I hope you all enjoy this.  I also included the site where you can order some of the spices for yourself.  They are really good (delish, as the name implies) but they are spicy:  mild palates beware.

http://www.delishproducts.com/products.html

What you’ll need:

  • 14 oz Shredded cheddar cheese – reserve some cheese for top of macaroni
  • 1 package of Macaroni
  • 2 tbsp Butter plus another 1 tbsp for the top
  • 1 cup of Milk
  • 3 tbsp Bajan seasoning
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tbsp fine bread crumbs

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Boil the macaroni in a large pot until it is almost al dente, the pasta will cook more in the oven.
  3. Drain pasta and pour back into original pot.
  4. Add butter the mix in cheese in small portions until almost all melted
  5. In a bowl whisk together, milk, egg, bajan seasoning, and onion powder
  6. Add egg mixture to the pasta
  7. Pour pasta mixture into greased baking dish, top with cheese, butter, and breadcrumbs
  8. Bake for 30-45 minutes, until top is slightly crunchy.

Enjoy this cheesy goodness!

I cut this into 4 large sections (After I ate about 1/4 of it) and I refrigerated each section separately in tupperware so it was easier to reheat in the oven.

Leave a Reply

