It’s Not DiGiorno…

Every time I eat pizza, it’s like I’ve fallen off the wagon and re-entered into pizza addiction.  I want to eat it for every meal.  I long for that melted cheese, warm sauce, and fresh dough.  During one binge I ate pizza at least once a day (a couple times twice) for 10 days.  I end every bender swearing I won’t eat pizza for a month.  I probably hold back for about a week.  Tops.  It’s so hard to resist.

Here is my latest rendition.  I wanted to switch it up from the usual suspects:  mozzarella and tomato sauce so I chose to use Goat cheese and pesto.  It gave the pizza a nice flavor.

Ingredients:

  • Pre-made whole wheat dough from Whole Foods
  • Spinach
  • Sliced Red Onion
  • Cremini Mushrooms sliced
  • 6 slices of Tomato
  • Pesto (I had a jarred pesto but you can use homemade which is easy and really tastes better)
  • Goat Gouda Cheese

Preheat the oven according to instructions and stretch dough for pizza.  Bake dough for about 5 minutes.  This gives it a little crispness.

Get your toppings ready.

Spread some pesto on the pizza, I used about 1/4 of the jar maybe more.  You be the judge.

Next I put the Spinach, cheese (sliced into chunks), tomato, onion and mushroom (in that order)

Then bake in the oven according to directions.  I think this was 420 for 12-15 minutes.

Voila!

Wine Pairing: A Sauvignon Blanc with some nice acidity would pair well with this pizza since goat cheese is the most pronounced ingredient.  I would suggest one from France, maybe a Sancerre, over a New Zealand.

One thought on “It’s Not DiGiorno…

Leave a Reply

