The Hidden Sushi Gem

Sasaya Japanese Market is tucked away in the Gateway Plaza on Sunrise Blvd in Fort Lauderdale.

Although this is South Florida and fresh fish are all around us, it’s still hard to find good quality, not overly priced, fresh sushi.

Sasaya, on the other hand, offers (in my opinion) some of the freshest, most affordable, and very simple sushi around.

This unassuming little market is run by what I believe is a husband and wife or maybe brother and sister?  They work there every day; running the store and making sushi.  From what I can tell the guy is the sushi pro.  At first, I was hesitant to order the sushi but if you sit down in the store for 10 minutes you are bound to see at least one person pick up a carry out order, if not more.  And once you try the sushi, you won’t go anywhere else again…I haven’t.

I usually just eat inside the store, as I am too impatient to drive home.  From the moment I get inside all I can think about is devouring the sushi, wasabi, ginger and soy sauce (some of my favorite things).  However, on this day we took it to the park for a picnic. Best idea ever.  Here are the rolls we got:

Sunrise ($6.50) – tuna, salmon, cucumber, masago (fish eggs), shibazuke (pickled cucumber and eggplant) and wasabi seasoning

Island ($7.50) – fried shrimp, eel, cream cheese with avocado on top

Volcano ($8.50)- scallop, crab, masago, tamago (sweet egg omelet), scallion, and japanese mayo on top of a california roll (crab, avocado, and cucumber)

I order the Sunrise EVERY time, it’s my favorite.  If you live in Fort Lauderdale, I highly recommend Sasaya or even if you are just visiting, you gotta check it out.  Seriously, some of the best sushi I’ve had. Their menu is simple and doesn’t have anything really fancy, but that’s the way I like it.  Simple, fresh, delicious.

Leave a Reply

