Got Rice?

Everyone loves a rice bowl from Chipotle or Qdoba or wherever you choose to satisfy that rice bowl craving.  This meal was inspired by the song “I can do anything they can do better”… from Annie.  Not really, but you catch my drift.

I made my own rice bowl.  Totally from scratch and let me tell ya….it was AWESOME!  I honestly haven’t thought about Chipotle since.

This is vegetarian but you can easily add beef, chicken, tofu, or fish.

What you’ll need:

Guacamole

  • 1 Avocado, peeled diced and mashed
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Salt and Pepper

Salsa

  • 1 large tomato chopped and juices preserved if possible
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 small jalapeno
  • Cilantro
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Everything else

  • Black beans (1 cup cooked or 1 can)
  • 1/2 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 cob of corn per person
  • Thinly sliced romaine lettuce
  • I also happened to have  some baby bella mushrooms in the fridge so I threw those in the oven with olive oil and roasted then for about 10-12 minutes
  1. Bring a pot of water to boil and put the corn in until done
  2. Mix all the ingredients together for the guacamole and set aside.
  3. Do the same for the salsa
  4. When the corn is cooked cut the corn off the cob
  5. Now construct your burrito bowl, here’s mine (in this order): rice, beans, lettuce, corn, mushrooms, salsa, guacamole.

Sorry for the lack of pictures…I guess I was hungry.

This recipe feeds 2-3 people depending how hungry you are.  If you/they are as hungry as me….probably 2 people.

Leave a Reply

