Salmon!!!!

I LOVE SALMON! And this recipe is to DIE for. Seriously, it contains all my favorites: salmon and ginger.  I absolutely love ginger.  The picture at the top of this blog is of this recipe. Yea it’s amazing.

I grilled this salmon but you could also broil or saute.  Here’s the grill I put together! AND it works! ….BAM!

I also made my Grandpa’s Caribbean salad to go with it.  The salad is super easy.  Make in advance so the juices can soak in…trust me it makes a HUGE difference.  Should you choose to make the salad, you’ll need: (This recipe is for two people)

  • 1/2 head of lettuce diced
  • 2 medium tomatoes diced
  • 1 jalapeno minced
  • 2 limes
  • 1 medium yellow onion

Mix all ingredients together with some salt and let them soak in the fridge.  Then work on the salmon.

OK! so here is what you need: (this recipe is for 2)

  • Salmon for 2 people – I think I did 5 oz. each
  • Fresh ginger root (get fresh!) minced
  • Cilantro chopped 1/8 cup
  • Garlic- 2 cloves minced
  • Low sodium soy sauce about 3 tbsp
  • Honey 3 tbsp
  • Pepper and Salt (I didn’t use much salt because soy sauce has lots of it)
  • Olive oil

Preheat the grill to medium high

  1. Mix the cilantro, garlic and ginger together with some olive oil
  2. Cut slits into the bottom of the salmon against the grain of the scales (about 6 total) and stuff with the herb mixture.
  3. Sprinkle with a little salt and some pepper
  4. Mix the honey and soy sauce in a small bowl
  5. Put salmon on the grill skin side down for about 4 minutes, flip over and grill for another 4 minutes.  Brushing with the soy sauce mixture every 30 seconds or so.

Sorry again that the food is half eaten when you see it.  I get excited.  You’ll understand when you eat this.

Leave a Reply

